Maker Pro
Maker Pro

E2V Argus thermal imaging camera battery/charger help

I bought an old thermal imaging camera model Type P4438 to mess around with and it has come with an aged rechargeable battery and no charger. I have limited self-taught electronics knowledge.

The seller said:

The unit comes with the rugged case, instruction manual and one battery. There is no battery charger but I managed to charge the battery with couple of wires into a 12 v power supply. This charger setup is not included for health and safety reasons but easily made yourself.

The battery does not hold a massive charge and only gives about 10 to 15 minutes viewing but I understand from the manual that it can be used with LR6 batteries in the correct holder.
The camera works well.

The battery has three pins. This confuses me a bit. The voltages are (reference), -9.81, -10.3.

I can find mixed information online suggesting mostly that it is 12V but this doesn't match my measurements.

I am wondering what voltage should I charge the battery at and how should I connect the pins?

The battery appears to be totally sealed.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/251823015408?_trksid=p2059210.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

I think this is the datasheet for this model and suggests 12V running voltage.

Is this your camera?
http://www.e-tell.info/myact/doc_man_lincs/argus thermal camera.pdf

If so, 12V makes sense since it runs off of 8 AA batteries (8 x 1.5V = 12V). The rechargable pack was an accessory but the datasheet isn't specific. Judging by the age of the camera, optional rechargable pack was probably a NiCAD pack. Since it only holds a charge for 15 minutes, it's probably time it be replaced (I wouldn't even try to re-charge it at this point for safety reasons).