Maker Pro
Maker Pro

convertin an output current range into a non-linear voltage range using load resistor

I have zero electronics experience and I am looking to be pointed to a tutorial that might explain some relevant principles and concepts that would help me with my problem.

I have boards which use senors which provide a variable current to the board. The board converts this current to a variable voltage through a load resitor using a digital potentiometer (which I understand affects the range of the output voltage) and I have software which enables me to adjust the load resistor from 39ohms to 10k ohms and to read off the now output voltage in digital form. I am getting very little support from the people who sent the boards and the software.

So far my settings of the load resistor have produced a non-linear relationship between the input current to the board and the output digital voltage to the software ( I guess it may be right that this is non-linear (perhaps it's linear within a certain range?) ), but because I have no idea about the relationship in principle between input current load resistor ohms setting and (digital) voltage output, I have no way to know what best value of ohms to set for a given case/application and no way to derive from the now digital voltage what the input current must have been ad so to know the sensor reading.

Any help or advice greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015