Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Controlling DC Lego motors with an old Blackberry?

First off, this is my first project of this type. I'm adept at programming on multiple platforms but have never attempted something with hardware and wiring; excuse any gaps in knowledge.

So, I have an old Blackberry Torch lying around I'd like to put to use with some Lego motors. From what I can tell, the motors have two pins; put a voltage on one and it spins one way, put a voltage on the other and it spins the opposite way. I'm sure I could splice the Blackberry's charging cable (a standard micro-USB I believe) to the motor and figure out how to transfer power from to the phone to it, but the problem lies in that I need to power multiple motors at different times. Is this possible, or do I need a board designed for such purposes? I was thinking of some other external controller that could be connected to the phone via the USB cable and could control individual motors; don't know if anything of the sort exists. I need the Blackberry to control the machine remotely with Bluetooth and for the camera (I also like the idea of repurposing an old phone).

Thanks for any help, and please ask if you need me to clarify something.

I'm sure I could splice the Blackberry's charging cable (a standard micro-USB I believe) to the motor and figure out how to transfer power from to the phone to it
I would not be so sure of that. The charging connector is an input to the phone, not an output.

Bob

I would not be so sure of that. The charging connector is an input to the phone, not an output.

Bob

If I remember back to my physics class correctly, the motor should draw current from the phone when they're connected since the phone has a charge and the motor doesn't (higher electric potential). Could be very wrong about that though.