Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Connecting lithium coin battery to circuit board for power?

Hi there,

I'm taking apart a radio and want to add a battery (rather than it being on a plug). It's very small and doesn't use much power.

It would use a small lithium coin battery like this: http://media.wholesale-electrical-e...10100915/63d6a47787cc5eb1dffd06b5944910dc.jpg

How can I choose a battery with appropriate volts?

Also, how can I create a circuit so that the battery directly links to powering the radio, is there any easy fix to this?

This is my first attempt at anything like this, so excuse my newbie post.

Thanks guys.

It's very small and doesn't use much power.

So you say... Have you actually measured the current requirements? What is the current and voltage requirements?

I highly suspect you will have EXTREMELY limited run time with coin cells (minutes maybe) unless it's a simple ear bud specifically designed low power radio...

How can I choose a battery with appropriate volts?
Voltage is generally stamped right on the surface of the coin or button cells, once you know the radios voltage and current requirements you can choose a suitable battery...

Also, how can I create a circuit so that the battery directly links to powering the radio, is there any easy fix to this?
There is no need to create a circuit unless you have to adjust voltage, you just hook the battery up to the supply points, plug or wires...

So you say... Have you actually measured the current requirements? What is the current and voltage requirements?

I highly suspect you will have EXTREMELY limited run time with coin cells (minutes maybe) unless it's a simple ear bud specifically designed low power radio...

Voltage is generally stamped right on the surface of the coin or button cells, once you know the radios voltage and current requirements you can choose a suitable battery...