Maker Pro
Maker Pro

connect optical audio speakers to tv with no optical audio

so i am new to this. i recently bought a Bose CineMate GS Series II digital home theater speaker system, along with my Avol tv. The tv has no optical audio port for it, so i cannot connect it directly to the tv like i would like to. I am looking for a solution, but nobody i know has any expertise on this subject.

i was looking at getting an AV reciever, but again i do not know how i would set it up to make all of the sound run through my speakers, let alone which one to even get. i have a budget of about $300. if anyone can help me out with some solutions and diagrams i would greatly appreciate it.

here is the set up i would like to create:

Xbox 360, DVD player/blue ray, and possibly laptop computer all hooked up to AV reciever
speakers play audio from any of the electronic devices when selected

Are you sure it only takes an optical connection?

This info from Amazon indicates otherwise:

Easily connects directly to your TV through either a digital or analog connection - no need to disconnect sources already attached to your TV

And the picture of the interface box shows a white and red RCA jack, standard for line level audio input.

Bob

Please elaborate OP.
Are you attempting to get 5.1 or 7.1 audio?
If so, there are devices that convert a digital coax to an optical line. This would be your ticket.
Otherwise you are stuck using the White/Red audio RCA plugs and an 'emulated' surround sound.

Gryd3,

It is not surround sound, just two speakers and a subwoofer. The RCA jacks should work fine for input.

Thuhobbit,

Does you TV have RCA audio out jacks? If so, just connect them to the jacks on the interface box.

Bob

Are you sure it only takes an optical connection?

This info from Amazon indicates otherwise:

And the picture of the interface box shows a white and red RCA jack, standard for line level audio input.

Bob