Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Can this be repaired by a complete novice please? Basic circuit repair?

Hello All.

A new member looking for help as my daughter's favourite garden ornament is no longer working.

We have a solar powered lighthouse (Aldi), but like most cheaper items water will always get in.

I have attached some images to show one of the components has broken off from the circuit board.

Is it possible to buy a replacement translator, I think it is called and soldered back in place please?

If so what is the component, so I can purchase one and attempt to solder it back.

All the translators I have seen have three 'prongs' but as far as I can make out mine only had two.

But me not knowing a jot about circuitry, is probably completely wrong.

A solar panel is wired to a switch, in the wiring is the panel which has the broken component then onto another board that has the magnetic motor and cogs that will turn the reflective part around the LED.

Please, if anyone can help out, I would be very grateful and of course my daughter will be happy again.

02a.jpg

03a.jpg

01a.jpg

04a.jpg

All the electronic parts are replaceable.
The circuit board itself seems to have suffered, so that is more difficult.
Repair from this state would take a bit of work, which might be difficult to explain, remotely.
Is replacement an option?

Does this have a brand or model on it somewhere?
The transistors will have letters/numbers on them. These may tell you what type they are.
Any remaining readable wording?

bertus

Hello,

It looks like there are 4 holes for the part.
It could be the part is a kind if SMPS led driver.
Are the any numbers readable on the part?

Bertus

Screen Shot 2021-08-08 at 18.34.24.png Thank you so much for all your replies of valueable info.

The broken component doe have QX 52525.

There is one for sale on eBay.

So would it be just a case of placing the prongs into the four holes and a touch of solder, please?Screen Shot 2021-08-08 at 18.34.24.png