Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Can I use a blender motor as a fan?

Hello,

I am not sure if this is strictly an electronics question but to be honest I do not know where else to ask. I had a blender similar to this one. It was no good to blend food because one of its plastic parts was worn out. However the motor still worked. So yesterday I pulled the thing apart and I now have the 600w motor. I had an old small 60s fan with a burnt motor. Can I use this motor for it? or this type of motor (blender motor) is not good for that?

I am asking for this reason; the blender motor only ran as long as you pressed a run button. However to be used in a fan it would need to run for hours. I know how to force this motor to run for hours however what I do not know is if this kind of motor is able to handle running for so long. Needless to say I am just a hobbyist.

Also from my little knowledge of motors I believe this is a brushed motor.

Yes just don't get it to close to your face :) The only two issue I see is the need to replace the brushes that will wear out after time if you continuously operate the fan. Also make sure the fan doesn't spin too fast, otherwise you will have to reduce the voltage to the motor.
Adam

Thanks for your quick reply. Changing the brushes should not be a problem now that I figured out how it works. Can I use something else instead of Carbon? or this is a standard? When I opened the blender I found a lot of carbon dust.

Regarding reducing voltage; I will have to read about that. The blender had two buttons. One button forced the blender to run faster than the other. I will use a multi-meter in the circuit that comes before the motor to see what happens :)

Yes just don't get it to close to your face :) The only two issue I see is the need to replace the brushes that will wear out after time if you continuously operate the fan. Also make sure the fan doesn't spin too fast, otherwise you will have to reduce the voltage to the motor.
Adam