Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Buying a Digital Oscilloscope.

I am replacing one of my old CRT Oscilloscopes with a Digital version. I am looking for recommendations - under £250 hopefully. Does anyone have experience of the FNIRSI range of oscilloscopes - they are reasonably priced but what is the quality like?

Hi Bertus. I need a 'scope for general monitoring of electronic circuits, setting up RF transmitters, fault-finding digital and analogue circuits, test and repairs to audio equipment, etc.
Portability is a useful feature too. I have looked at Telequipment, Tektronics, and used most makes in the past but now just need something for occasional hobby use.
Thank you for the links to the reviews - these are most useful, except that the ones I have been able to find prices for are aimed at 'professionals', not hobbyists!
I am looking at the currently available brands, e.g. Hantek, Rigol, Siglent, Owon, & Hanmatek, but I have no experience of using these products. I am looking to spend up to £200.00 so some of these will not be applicable, but if you or anyone is able to offer me their thoughts or experience and offer recommendations for the most suitable oscilloscopes I would be very grateful. As I mentioned - I am looking for anyone's experience of the FNIRSI range of oscilloscopes - they appear to be good value for money but are they really?

Thanks,
Steve. G8DMS

Bertus,
Thank you for this post. The Tektronix one is a very useful refresher course for me! The 'allaboutcircuits' website has lots of interesting information but I didn't find answers to my specific query, however, I may use it for other assistance. The 'eevblog' site is indeed an extensive data source for 'scopes. However, it is 6 years old and things have moved on since then, and looking at the guide prices they are aimed at the pro user, not a poor Ham!
Anyhow, many thanks again for the research and I'm sure to refer back to some of the sites you recommended.
Steve G8DMS

bertus

Hello,