Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building a rechargeable LED flashlight.

Hi everyone!
I will try to make my first post clear and concise. I work as a car mechanic in small independent shop. We bought this light because it seemed impressively bright: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cordless-LE...Ion-1000-Lumen-Cliplight-114301-/400994266221
Turns out it has to be amongst the worst designed light for automotive repair, it is often too bright for close quarters, has a useless ans flimsy hook and no magnet. So I taped a magnet on it and...eventually forget it under a car to never see it again. My work partner lost one in a similar way too.

That is why I would like some help building a worklamp similar to a flashlight but with more flood capacity. Here are the characteristics I would like for it:
-At least 250 lumens
-Somewhat compact and lightweight
-Battery powered
-Rechargeable
-Runtime of at least 2 hours
-More of a flood style lighting than beam style
-Ideally no surface mount components

I did search the forum and did not find any similar helpful thread (there is one started which has 3 posts).
I am a novice in electronics but I know that I can make this with the help of google and hopefully you guys. In theory it seems like a pretty simple project but I get lost in all the parts! I am really unsure of what materials to use, what kind of LEDs and batteries and how to recharge these batteries. I am counting on your experience and knowledge for suggestions and ideas!

You're in flashlight terroritory..

it's almost as bad as electronics, biggest grip with flashaholics is the low mode setting, either it's too bright or too dim, eg a fenix will probably be ideal for a mechanic on low..

To be honest, any flashlight will have the intensity but as you pointed out you need a low but not too low

www.fenixlight.com

I think their default low is ideal for close up inspection, once you hit around 100 lumens it's pretty useless unless you're walking home/searching