Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Bose Acoustimass

Hi,

I have a Bose Acoustimass 5 which I purchases several years ago and have hooked it with a Yamaha stereo receiver. I have some questions and any help is greatly appreciated -

1) The sub has stopped working. Is there a way to repair it myself?

2) I just bought a LED TV. If I purchase an AV receiver, can this unit be connected to the TV as the TV sound is really bad.

3) This is a 2 speaker set. Can I purchase 2 standalone speakers and connect it with the new receiver to get a total of 4 speakers?

I am a novice and would appreciate some help.

Thanks very much.

-Biswajit

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
It's very hard to answer any of these questions. I assume the Bose Acoustimass 5 is the subwoofer?

1) We would need to know what the fault is exactly, it may be a simple fuse replacement, or it could require replacement of a whole host of components, or almost anything else.

2) Does the TV have audio outputs? Are they compatible with an AV receiver? Will the audio coming out be any better (i.e. is the poor quality a speaker/amplifier issue or is it (say) a very low bandwidh tuner)

3) Can you connect additional speakers (i.e. does it have connections to do so)? What impedance is required or allowed?

At the very least we would need model numbers for all the equipment, preferably links to manuals and/or specifications on the web.

For the subwoofer problem we need to know how it failed, preferably links to the service manual, and your willingness to delve inside and take measurements and photographs. If you are not happy about probing inside live equipment with a multimeter (or do not have the skills and/or equipment), and the possibility of having to source components and replace them yourself, we may not get too far.

Hi Steve,

Thanks for your answer. Yes the Bose Acoustimass 5 is the subwoofer

2) The specs of the tv are at: http://us.toshiba.com/tv/LED/55UX600U. It has 4 HDMI connections at the back.