Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Basic circuit battery help

Hi,
I am not too experienced with electronics theory so need a little help in selecting a power source for my 'beginner' project. I am also new to the forum so hopefully I have found a new base for electronic knowledge. I'm also not sure if my idea will actually be feasible.

I ride a motorcycle all year round and if there are other motorcyclists in UK on here they will know it gets pretty cold, as such I'm doing a little project with heated grips. I have selected heated grip pads you can buy (cheap on eBay) which are usually wired straight into the vehicles battery, however for my own preference (removable) I would like to add a rechargeable battery source instead, this is the part I'm not sure is feasible or not.

The grips I'm told are rated at 12V, 3A, which works out at 36W. The circuit will be a simple series circuit with on/off toggle switch. I have attempted a diagram below but as I'm unsure whether the conventional diagram is correct (right) I also drew what it would physically look like (left), apologies if my poor diagrams hurt the eyes of seasoned electricians :eek:

GHBAW.jpg

Now my problem is what specification battery I should be looking for, I would like the pads to be powered for as many hours as possible, ideally 3-5 hours range minimum.

Should the total battery bank voltage add to 12V? with generally as many mAh as possible? I see most rechargeable AA batteries are rated at 1.2V, does this mean I would require 10? Which may not be too feasible... Is there another rechargeable power source not too large in size which I don't know about of higher voltage output?

Cheers,
Tom.

davenn

hi there edgey
welcome tot he forums :)

for a stand alone battery its going to have to be a big one
eg a 12V 7.2 AH sealed lead acid or gel battery will only last a couple of hours at best
thats around a kilo or so weight
for 3 - 5 hours you would need something in the range of 15 - 20Amp Hour (AH)