Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Assistance repairing an old, irreplaceable boombox

Hi,
I'm brand new to this forum; to be honest, I'm kind of at my wit's end, and hoping someone can help me out.
I'm trying to fix something that, to anyone else, would be a 'toss and replace' item, but which must be repaired. Because of its nature (a 13-year-old Philips AZ2055 boombox; probably retailed for about $30 when it was new), I can't find any info to help me diagnose it. There are parts with no labels inside, such as the large transformer that appears to consistently put out 10.6VAC, so I have no way to know if it's working properly or not.
I'm an electronics repairman by trade, but I work mostly with either very mechanical things (slide projectors, etc), newer things that have techn manuals available, or purely digital things that just require swapping boards (i.e. LCD TVs, iPhones, etc.) Trying to repair something like this, when the obvious voltages seem to be correct, is a little out of my league.
Now, a little background on why this is irreplaceable: my customer is an inmate in a prison serving a 40-year sentence. Since being imprisoned, the rules changed, forbidding inmates from having any devices that emit sound. His boombox was grandfathered in. He can keep it until he's released in 30 years, but he cannot replace it.