Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Advent TV

The TV works great for the first hour or so and then the picture disappears but the sound stays on. I then could turn it off and then back on and the picture usually comes back on for a while. I don't have a service manual so I guess what I am asking for is help with troubleshooting, Service Manual and where can I find the part(s) to fix it.
Thanks!

What kind of TV? LCD, Plasma?

If it's LCD it could just be the backlight circuit shutting down, either due to a bad lamp, or bad components in the inverter circuit.

Unfortunately it has a CRT.

OK that changes things a bit.
Before we go much further, what is your level of knowledge/experience with electronics in general, and CRT TVs in particular.

It may be a relatively easy fix, but quite likely in a very dangerous area of the TV.

I played around working on Televisions years ago. I am an electronic technician now making Thermal Imaging Cameras. Worked on computers for years. I am a bit familiar with High voltage and most of the precautions that I should take to be safe.

Ah good to know. Didn't want you poking around in areas that could radically alter your hairstyle :)
In my experience with CRT-based TVs (it's been a while now)
Loss of picture is often due to the high voltage disappearing.
An easy way to verify, I run the back of my hand across the front of the screen, and if I don't feel the static field, I assume the HV is off.

Because it's intermittent, it's probably not a bad horizontal output transistor, so I'd suspect a bad solder joint in the high voltage section. Have a close look at the flyback and horizontal sections for cracked joints.

Also, since it's intermittent, when the picture disappears, try tapping/flexing the PCB with a long non-conductive tool or wooden stick, to see if you can determine if it is a bad joint.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd