Maker Pro
Maker Pro

AC 3-phase motor control

Hello Everyone,

To begin, you must know that I have little background in electronics. I became very interested in electronics and micro controllers only a few mouths ago.

I intend to build my own brushless outrunner motor, that I will ultimately use as a in-wheel motor for an RC car ( long term project in mind) mainly as a learning experience. I understand the basic electromagnetism principles behind the functioning of a AC motor but not more. :eek:

I know that in order to control the speed of my motor, I will need to convert DC in some kinda approximation of three sin waves shifted by 120 degrees using transistors switched by a micro controller that sends out pulse width modulation to these transistors.

What I need to be illuminated about is what exactly am I trying to achieve when i want to, say, accelerate from 1000RPM to 1200RPM? Also, how do I figure out what voltage I must supply for a given speed and how do I manage to get this voltage? I understand that the speed of rotation is related to the frequency of the sine wave and the amount of poles in the motor.

More specifically, my motor would have 14 permanent magnet in the outer rotor and 12 coils on the stator.

So to reiterate, I would like to understand how I would go about programming my micro controller if I want my motor to go from 1000RPM to 1200RPM? What am I trying to achieve at an electromagnetic level and what electronic component do i need in my circuits to acheive this?

Thank you very much for taking the time to help me.

P.S ( I understand Calculus and ODEs if this is required in the explanation???...)

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
I think it might be useful to get a small motor and work out your control logic for that first. That way, if you decide to build your own motor, you won't be dealing with too many unknowns at once.