Maker Pro
Maker Pro

A simple way to make an oscillator+amplifier+antenna circuit for very low frequencies?

I'm a newbie in electronics and I want to drive a square loop antenna with very low (between 100 Hz and maybe 20 KHz) frequencies. I stuied much of BJT configurations (common collector etc.) and oscillator design (Colpitts, RC phase shifter etc.) but still I lack the skills to build a decent osc+amp+antenna circuit.

So I thought, for such low frequencies I could go for a simple speaker. Cut one of its wires (one that goes into the speaker coil) and solder a square antenna in between. Then plug into PC and with some software I could drive the antenna with sine or square waves of audio frequencies (up to 20 kHZ?).

Would this work? Do I need to care about the speakers "ohm" value? How could I calculate the peak-to-peak voltage and current through the antenna then?

Or is there any other method you would suggest?

Any help would be appreciated.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
At 100Hz, an optimal antenna will be about 750km high. A ground plane of about 2 million square kilometers should be sufficient.

An inductive loop only works if you are inside the loop or very close to it. A lot of power is required to push lots of current through the loop. I would use thick wires and put enough turns on to get 4Ω or so. Using some power to drive a speaker complicates the calculations and wastes transmitter power.

2 million square kilometers you say... Sorry that I didn't give a clear description of the purpose. I'm not aiming for far field transmission and thus an ideal antenna is not necessary here.